PORTRAIT

Portrait of Lara @laralovesparis, creator of the KUDA Overall sketch

Where did you find the inspiration to create the sketch of the KUDA Overall ?

I like to dress my son in a pretty precise way : simple yet chic, nothing unnessecary, just the right details that make the entire outfit. When Laetitia suggested to draw an overall for her collection I assembled the details I like to create the garment. The collar for instance was inspired by Spanish kids fashion where all sorts of collars are designed for boys, ones that are usually put on girls clothes in French fashion. That ittle twist makes the overall totally unisex. I really like the fact that it can be dressed up with fancy shoes and an elegant cardigan or dressed down with sneakers and a sleeveless shepherd style jacket.

When did you start drawing ?

Since I was little. I have always liked drawing. There was even a period when I thought about studying Fashion Design but I chose Art Direction and Graphic Design instead, which seamed more versatile.

When you are not drawing for Marsou what is (are) your activity (ies) ?

I am a freelance Graphic Designer and Illustrator and mama to a 2 and a half years old little boy. Combining both occupations can be very practical regarding schedules but it can also quickly become a trap if you don’t set yourself a few boundaries… This year I don’t work on week-ends anymore for example and it is so uplifting to be really present for my son on those days !

What kind of decoration did you choose for your child's bedroom ?

My son’s bedroom has a quite sober and functional decoration : the walls are white, decor is in neutral tones and a few touches of blue, and a lot of baskets hold all of his treasures. The brands I chose the decoration from are Numero 74 for the canopy over his reading nook and the beautiful pennants garland, Maileg and Main Sauvage for favorite soft toys and the mice family that lives in his little house, L’Affiche Moderne for wall art, Camomile London, Kongeslojd and La Petite Collection for bed linen.

Which are your favorite kids friendly spots in your neighborhood ?

We are lucky enough to live surrounded by parks and next to the Bois de Boulogne so we have a lot of options for our week-end walks ! The greenhouses of Auteuil are a favourite for our family, especially during the winter, we love to go and heat up a little in the main greenhouse. Hundreds of tropical plants make for neverending inspiration for me and my son loves to watch the fish and the birds. We often go to Brasserie Auteuil for a family lunch : italian food, gorgeous setting and enough space for the wanderings of a toddler !

Marsou in a few words ?

French chic, retro & cute !

PORTRAIT

Portrait de Lara @laralovesparis, dessinatrice de la Combinaison KUDA

Ou as-tu été puiser ton inspiration pour le croquis de la Combinaison KUDA ?  

J’aime habiller mon fils dans un style assez précis : simple et chic, sans fioritures, avec juste les bons détails qui font la tenue. Quand Laetitia m’a proposé de dessiner une combinaison j’ai associé les petits détails qui me plaisent pour en faire un vêtement. Le col par exemple est inspiré de la mode enfantine espagnole qui n’hésite pas à faire toute sortes de cols et autres détails pour les garçons qui sont, dans les codes de la mode enfantine française habituellement réservés aux filles. C’est une combi totalement unisexe du coup. J’aime le fait que l’on puisse l’habiller avec de jolies chaussures et un gilet plus chic par exemple, ou la porter de façon plus décontractée en l’associant à une paire de baskets et un gilet de berger.

Depuis quand dessines tu ?

Depuis toute petite. J’ai toujours aimé dessiner. J’ai même réfléchi un temps à me lancer dans des études de stylisme et puis finalement j’ai opté pour la direction artistique et le graphisme, plus polyvalents.

Lorsque tu ne dessines pas pour Marsou, quelle(s) est (sont) ton (tes) activité(s) ?

Je suis graphiste illustratrice free-lance et maman d’un petit garçon de 2 ans et demi. L’association des deux peut être très pratique quant aux aménagements d’horaires mais ça peut vite devenir un piège si on ne se fixe pas quelques limites… Cette année je ne travaille plus le week-end par exemple et ça me fait un bien fou de pouvoir profiter pleinement de mon fils ces jours-là !

Quelles marques de déco pour la chambre de tes enfants ?

La déco de sa chambre est relativement sobre et fonctionnelle : les murs sont blancs, la déco dans des tons naturels parsemés de touches de bleus et de paniers en tous genres pour ranger ses trésors. Numéro 74 pour le ciel de lit qui abrite son petit coin lecture et pour la guirlande de fanions, Maileg et Main Sauvage pour les doudous fétiches et la famille de souris qui vit dans sa petite maison, L’Affiche Moderne pour la déco murale, Camomille London, Kongeslojd et La Petite Collection pour le linge de lit.

Quels sont tes 3 spots préférés pour les kids dans ton quartier ?

Nous avons la chance de vivre entourés de parcs et à côté du bois de Boulogne et donc l’embarras du choix pour les ballades du week-end ! Les serres d’Auteuil sont un grand classique chez nous, surtout en hiver, on aime se réchauffer dans la grande serre. Les centaines de plantes tropicales sont une source d’inspiration inépuisable pour moi et mon fils adore observer les poissons du grand bassin et les oiseaux dans la volière. Pour un resto en famille on va souvent à la Brasserie Auteuil : plats italiens, lieu canon et de la place pour les allées et venues d’un petit boy ! 

Marsou en quelques mots ?

Français, chic, retro & mignon !